

APCM Reports

Deanery Synod

At the time of writing we have 2 clergy (Simon Scott and Gideon Emmaneuel), 1 Licensed Lay Minister (Neil Wade), 1 Diocesan Synod representative (David Brock) and one other member of the PCC (Clive Ayling) as serving members of the Deanery Synod.

The members provide the PCC with an important link between the parish and the wider structures of the diocese and the denomination. Technically we qualify for one further member given our current congregation's size. There is an argument in us taking up that vacant position, given that important issues regularly come before the different tiers of the denomination's synods and the Deanery Synod members are both voters and electors in the governing structures.

With the uncertain financial climate, our Deanery business has often focused on the struggles faced by some of the parishes. Michael Wilcockson, a non-Stipendiary Minister in Linton, continues as Rural Dean. Significant questions are still being posed about the most effective deployment of stipendiary and non-stipendiary clergy. Along with the differing reactions to General Synod's response to the Living in Love and Faith project, there has been much discussion of the Deanery Plan but this has somewhat stalled while we await nomination of a new Diocesan Bishop.

Simon Scott April 2024